My Only Child, My Only Son~

This weekend I had a moment where you get a glimpse of a time that once was.  The moment you see your child growing up and becoming more independent.   The moment when things in your life pass you by so quickly and aging becomes more surreal.  I am truly blessed to be my son’s parent.  I feel like the luckiest mom in the world!  I have spent more than 13 years of my life trying to have a big family of my own.  Years of infertility treatments, years of waiting for a child to adopt,  and years of praying to become a mother.  My husband and I have experienced failed treatments, failed adoptions, and failed dreams.  After seven years of waiting God answered our prayers with our beautiful son.  He is the light of my world, I give my all for him, and he is my only child and my only son that I have the most indescribable love for.

When he was a baby I cherished every feeding, rocking, changing, playing, any little moment with him.  I never took these moments for granted.  I was given potentially only one opportunity to have a child.  So far that has remained true.  Yes, I have loved and cared on other babies and children in foster care, but we only were blessed with one child.  I am approaching 39 fast and as they say the clock keeps ticking.  We have been waiting over two years trying to adopt a second child.  More failed dreams of our son having a sibling and for us to expand our family.    The time is not up, yet.  However, it is getting very close and I am glad that I took in all those moments of rocking my son to sleep.  The first time he talked, the first time he walked, the adventures of having a toddler, and the many bedtime readings, cuddling, and laughing.  He is now seven going on 13.  We still have the bedtime readings, laughing, cuddling, and fun adventures together, but my baby boy is growing up.  This weekend we went fishing and he scratched up his leg running into some thorn bushes he didn’t see.  I told him I wanted to wash his boo boos….he was like “Awe, mom your embarrassing me!”  I am, how I thought?  There was some other kids around fishing that were in ear shot of us.  He whispered “Don’t call them boo boos, mom…they are scratches.”  That is when I realized he wanted me to stop babying him, especially in front of potential new friends.  That was the moment that I realized I was in a new realm of raising my son.  The baby and toddler years are gone and the little young man was growing up.  Which I knew those had been slipping awaying as each of his birthdays passed. No matter how old he gets or how many times he says “Oh mom, your embarrassing me” I will continue to cuddle, love, worry, nurture, and think of him as my baby.  He will always be my baby no matter how old he gets. So there will be times that I just sit in awe watching him and I disconnect from social media because I am busy enjoying my son, my husband, simply enjoying my life.  Motherhood is the best thing that has ever-blessed my life.  I don’t take it for granted…I cherish it everyday.  Thank you God for my only son~

Moses Summertime

This has been my song to my son.

Leonard Skynard’s

“Simple Man”

Mama told me when I was young
“Come sit beside me, my only son
And listen closely to what I say
And if you do this it’ll help you some sunny day”

“Oh, take your time, don’t live too fast
Troubles will come and they will pass
You’ll find a woman and you’ll find love
And don’t forget, son, there is someone up above”

“And be a simple kind of man
Oh, be something you love and understand
Baby be a simple kind of man
Oh, won’t you do this for me, son, if you can”

“Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold
All that you need is in your soul
And you can do this, oh baby, if you try
All that I want for you, my son, is to be satisfied”

“And be a simple kind of man
Oh, be something you love and understand
Baby be a simple kind of man
Oh, won’t you do this for me, son, if you can”

Oh yes, I will

“Boy, don’t you worry, you’ll find yourself
Follow your heart and nothing else
And you can do this, oh baby, if you try
All that I want for you, my son, is to be satisfied”

“And be a simple kind of man
Oh, be something you love and understand
Baby be a simple kind of man
Oh, won’t you do this for me, son, if you can”

Baby, be a simple, be a simple man
Oh, be something you love and understand
Baby, be a simple kind of man

 

Leave a Reply

